top of page
Writer's pictureChristina M. DiSalvo

Travel musings 2022

I "just" got back from a month in Europe, and my biggest takeaway is that there is far too much to do.


I actually arrived home over a week ago, and I was immediately overwhelmed by everything that I want to do that I learned of or was inspired to do while traveling and spending 10 days in the UK and three weeks in Tuscany, Italy, combined with the things that I noramlly want to do when I am home in New England, USA. I need to start drinking espresso again!


I need to discern whether I am doing too much, or whether I need to organize my time better. I not only feel that I want to do too much as it is, but I also want to look into doing more after the enriching experiences that I had in Europe. To make a long, babbly story more clear:


What I was already doing:

  • Building a freelance interpreting practice in Massachusetts

  • Volunteering with WAGGGS (the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts)

  • Studying spoken Italian

  • Researching my Italian ancestry and culture (see next point)

  • Researching Italian work possiblities in Rome and/or Sicily

  • Slowly working towards a Graduate Certificate or Masters in Catholic Theology

  • Reading as professional development based on colleagues' reccommendations

  • Pursuing personal development goals

What I wanted to pursue, pre-June 2022 (pre-travel):

  • Start a freelance interpreting practice in New Hampshire

  • Obtain the NIC (National Interpreter Certification)

  • Start a freelance interpreting practice in Maine, Vermont, possibly Rhode Island (as much of New England as I can logisically manage)

  • Learn BSL (British Sign Language)

  • Research work opportunities in the UK--Newcastle, London, possibly Manchester, Leeds

  • European Masters in Sign Language Interpreting if accepted

What I now want to pursue, post-June 2022 and having completed the Siena School for Liberal Arts Deaf Studies Summer Professioanls & Graduate Students Program:

  • Become fluent in spoken/written Italian

  • Grow in my LIS (Lingua dei Segni Italiana) knowledge and develop fluency

  • If I can gain citizenship through ancestry, study LIS interpreting at University in either Sicily or Venice

  • Obtain a student visa to attend a part-time graduate program for BSL and go on to study interpreting in the UK



Thank you for reading this far, as this has become more of a brain-storming session than it is a blog post. However, if you have read this far and resonate with any of the goals that I have for myself, please do reach out so we can connect on them. Thank you so much; peace and all good, pace e bene.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thoughts on "side hustles"

Four months into the coronavirus pandemic, I quit my full time job to move closer to home because they would not consider moving my...

Comments


bottom of page