top of page
Writer's pictureChristina M. DiSalvo

Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences: reflection

My takeaway from this book is that I need to go back to/continue grad school.


I finally finished rereading the book that was assigned to me in college in 2016, I Tweeted about rereading in late 2019, got called out (lightheardedly, I believe) for not appreciating until 3 years later--hi, Dr. Hill--but then put down again for too long. I put the book down because my professional, personal, and educational life was put on hold and re-designed as the global pandemic beginning in 2020 shook us all up. Now that I am getting all of these avenues back on track, I am once again ruminating on the research interests that I have, and discerning where to go from here. As I stated above, my first step is to take another course in St. Joseph's College of Maine's Theology graduate certificate program and move forward in my studies and potentially looking at other programs internationally, since my overall topic of interest is religious ASL interpreting. This is my next step, and I will have to see where life and various admissions offices take me from there, as the hope to participate in the European Masters of Sign Language Interpreting (EUMASLI 4) did not pan out and I was not accepted this time around.


"Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences: Research in an Age of Info-Glut" by Kristin Luker is one that I will have to revisit (again!) if I do venture into research, because I could not complete many of the exercises after each chapter since they were designed for someone who is actively involved in research. For my "book review" of this while I am still in the discnerning phase, I will flesh out my findings in the exercise for chapter 5, which is to draw out a "bedraggled daisy" venn diagram on all my research interests.


I. Section/layer I

A. Catholic Theology (of the Mass/Liturgy/general)

Next step of exploration: SJC Theology Certificate(/degree?)

B. Interpreting theory

Next step: continued practice and professional development, strive for Masters program (EUMASLI?)

C. Deaf Culture

Next step: continued networking and professional development (NCOD, IDCA?)

D. Catholic "culture"

Next step: continued networking and personal practice

II. Section/layer II

A. Catholic Theology (compared to/as it relates to) Interpreting theory

B. Interpreting theory (in the context of/as it relates to) Catholic "culture"

C. Deaf Catholic "culture"/experience

D. Deaf Culture (in/and/as it relates to) Catholic Theology

Next step: Theology of Disability postgraduate diploma at University of Aberdeen?

III. Section/layer III

A. Catholic Theology as it relates to Interpreting theory in the context of Deaf Culture

B. Interpreting theory in the context of Catholic Theology and "culture"

C. Interpreting theory in the context of Deaf Catholic culture

D. Deaf Catholic culture/experience in the wider context of Catholic Theology

Next step: Theology of Disability PGDip at Aberdeen?

IV. Section/layer IV

How all of these intersect and what it means for interpreters and Deaf people involved in the Catholic Church in any and all ways


This could serve as my starting point, once I can add more foundation with some more Theological training. I will be revisiting this book and outline once I can better answer one of Luker's most basic, main questions regarding research interests: "What is this a case of?"

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page