top of page
Writer's pictureChristina M. DiSalvo

Article on LGBTQ-Affirming Interpretation Services

I thank the NH Chapter of the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf for sharing this article via email.

https://kghinterpretation.com/ncihc-amm-language-access-cafe-summary-lgbtq-affirming-interpretation-services/?mc_cid=e25bba85c2&mc_eid=41430ee231


Session 1: A Focus on Pronouns

When I first started reading this article, I was afraid that it would stray too far from my own practice in terms of how conservative my actions are as opposed to the other side of the spectrum where the interpreter steps in (sometimes referred to as "stepping out of the interpreting role") to clarify things that the interlocutors have not brought up on their own, such as pronouns. I was glad, however, when the author detailed the desire for natural rapport building by letting the professional ask for that to be shared, or the patient to advocate for themselves and share and explain that. She specifically mentioned this in designated LGBTQ+ Safe Spaces.

...if I am familiar with that space and know beforehand the provider will incorporate pronouns into the beginning of the encounter, I may not ask for pronouns to allow the provider that chance for valuable rapport-building.

In my own practice, I may even choose to take that approach a step further by letting the two share what they are accustomed to sharing rather than stepping in to be the advocate to the LGBTQ+ person, where my job is first and foremost to facilitate communication uninfluenced.

This article is, however, is challenging that decision-making pattern that I have, and causing me to wish I attended this lecture so that I could ask questions and have discussions with peers.

I feel the suggestions to avoid problematic terminology is affirming, but I wonder how often it can be used considering how infrequently we switch to what was taught to me as "consultation mode" while interpreting, when we switch to using third-person language and using our own voice. This most commonly happens before and after the interpreted interaction, at which point the content of the interaction should not be discussed further. I am still glad that the article suggests using "assigned male/female at birth" instead of the other problematic examples listed.


Session 2: Autonomy, Perosonal Growth, and Culture


This section of the article with content from the second session of the lecture erradicated the doubts and hesistations that I had in the first section about letting people advocate for themselves and


empower(ing) people who utilize interpretation services, not rob(bing) them of their agency.

Although it was mentioned in one short paragraph, the tension between the LGBTQ+ community and religious community resonated deeply with me. The author expressed relief and gratitude when she heard that some people attended the session looking to learn how to be a better ally. I wish there had been more on this, as I am both a member of the LGBTQ+ community and am a religous person. I have noticed a lot of tension when there is overlap not just between those communities, but when any other of my intersectional identities collide. I particularly notice this when I venture into the realm of research in Catholic Interpreting; two disciplines that do not understand each other save for those who are in those two disciplines like me and a few of my colleagues.


Session 3: Soft Skills and Acknowledging Trauma

One participant shared an especially powerful quote, stating that interpreting is about “getting across someone’s emotional truth.” I feel that this embodies the spirit of providing LGBTQ-affirming interpreting services, and it does require a lot of empathy and understanding.

I resonated strongly with the three-pronged approach to interpret accurately, advocate when necessary (being very mindful of safety and the patient's right to "choose battles" when in a potentially hostile situation), and respect.


I thank you for coming to my blog to share these thoughts with me, and for you I echo the presenter's last shared point, especially as a quiet professional queer person myself:

I am by no means an expert on such issues, and as such, please feel free to weigh in on any of the points discussed here if I have made a mistake, conveyed something incorrectly, or can perhaps phrase something in a better way. I very much want this topic to be an ongoing dialogue about how best to serve the LGBTQ community in terms of language access, and part of that dialogue is being open to making and admitting mistakes. I am no exception to this.

If you've made it this far, thank you! Please reach out to me by emailing me, finding me on Twitter, or any other way you can comment to share your thoughts with me on this.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Thoughts on "side hustles"

Four months into the coronavirus pandemic, I quit my full time job to move closer to home because they would not consider moving my...

Comments


bottom of page